Overseas- First Aid at Work (FAW)


First Aid at Work (FAW)

First Aid at Work (FAW)

RQF Level 3 Award Qualification title: FAA Level 3 Award in First Aid at Work

Unit 1 title: Emergency First Aid in the workplace

Unit 2 title: Recognition and Management of illness and injury in the workplace


    It is a requirement of the Health & Safety law that employers provide a safe and healthy environment to work in. If your assessment of first aid needs highlights the need for qualified first aiders, then this level 3 qualification (level 6 in Scotland) will provide you with suitable, highly trained personnel. This comprehensive three-day course covers a wide range of first aid emergencies, enabling all participants to deal with emergency situations with confidence in a prompt, safe and effective way. In addition, this course will include any protocol changes that may have arisen since their last training course. This course will give the participants a qualification to the highest level of First Aid, meeting the statutory requirements of the Health and Safety (First Aid) Regulations 1981.


    A minimum of 18 hours spread over at least three days. Ideally, the course should be run over three consecutive days, but we have the flexibility to accommodate your specific needs if you so desire providing it is completed within 10 weeks of starting the course and the training sessions last for a minimum of two hours.


    Summative practical assessment is ongoing by the instructor each day, along with a written assessment for unit 2. A three year Level 3 Award in First Aid at Work (Level 6 in Scotland) will be issued to the learner, subject to successful assessment. No external assessors are required.


    A range of subjects are covered including:

    • Legalities, responsibilities and reporting
    • Resuscitation and AED awareness
    • Assessment of the situation
    • Dealing with an unresponsive casualty
    • Bandaging
    • Shock (including Anaphylaxis)
    • Fractures and spinal injuries
    • Heart attacks
    • Choking
    • Control of bleeding
    • Head injuries
    • Eye injuries
    • Poisoning
    • Chest injuries
    • Sprains and strains
    • Burns
    • Asthma
    • Diabetes
    • Epilepsy
    • Stroke Certification.


    A minimum of 6 and maximum of 24 candidates are allowed, and must be a minimum of 14 years of age and a certificate can be offered to all, subject to assessment.

    A Candidate cannot assume a responsibility in the workplace until they reach the age of 16, and then it is the employer’s responsibility to ensure that the Candidate is suitable for that role. The certificate will expire as dated on the certificate, irrespective of age.



    Copyright @ All Rights Reserved


    Would you like to accept our cookies?

    Learn more